Category: Special Contributors

Robert J. Kane served as president of the U.S. Olympic Committee from 1977 to 1981, a period that included the U.S. boycott of the Moscow 1980 Olympic Games.
One of the greatest basketball coaches of all-time, Hank Iba guided the United States men's basketball teams to two Olympic gold medals and one silver.
Colonel Don Hull served in World War II and the Korean War before a career in athletic administration. He served as the executive director of the Amateur Athletic Union from 1962 to 1978, then served eight years as president of the International Amateur Boxing Association.
Bud Greenspan's first film was a 15-minute documentary on gold medal weightlifter John Davis, whom he met working as an extra in the Metropolitan Opera chorus. Greenspan would go on to document every Olympic Games from 1984 to 2010, winning eight Emmy Awards. He was inducted into the International Olympic Committee's Olympic Order.
Television executive Dick Ebersol began his career as a researcher for ABC's broadcast of the Grenoble 1968 Olympic Winter Games and worked his way to become chairman of NBC Universal Sports and Olympics, producing 19 Olympic Games telecasts.
The first commissioner of the Eastern College Athletic Conference, Asa Smith Bucknell III served as secretary treasurer of the U.S. Olympic Committee from 1945 to 1965 and received the USOC's Olympic Torch Award in 1966 for his contributions to the Olympic Movement.
After an athletic career that included participating in the decathlon and pentathlon at the Stockholm 1912 Olympic Games, Avery Brundage started a business career. He later served as president of the American Olympic Association and then was president of the International Olympic Committee from 1952 to 1972.
Television executive Roone Arledge created Wide World of Sports and Monday Night Football and produced 10 Olympic television broadcasts.
Skip to content